all rights reserved copyright 2001

The Handbook of Spiritual Enlightenment


Chapter 1
Despondency in this world

(The Armies face each other at Kuruksetra). Seeing his world at war Arjuna becomes bewildered and confused. What can he do ?

Chapter 2

Summary of the teachings

The experience awakens Arjuna thirsts for spiritual knowledge as a disciple, and he begins by learning the basic distinction between our temporary body and the eternal soul, the process of transmigration (reincarnation), the nature of selfless service and the signs of an enlightened person.

Chapter 3
How to Act

Those in the world must undergo activity for it underlies this world and can either bind us or liberate us. By acting without selfish motive one can be released from karma (action and reaction) and attain enlightenment. 

Chapter 4
Guru as means of knowledge

How to obtain spiritual knowledge of the soul, of God, through approaching a Guru, a realised teacher.

Chapter 5
True Renunciation

How to act in purity and thereby obtain spiritual bliss.

Chapter 6
Meditative Visualisation

How to control the mind and senses through disciplined practice of meditation and attain samadhi, absorption in bliss of the Creator.

Chapter 7
Knowledge/Wisdom of the Creator

There are many possible objects of worship but only the Creator is worthy of surrender.

Chapter 8
Reaching the Creator

Life is for remembering the Creator so that we return to Him at death.

Chapter 9
The Secret of life

The secret of life is to worship the Creator

Chapter 10
The Creator owns all

As owner of all before us the Creator is the supreme object of worship.

Chapter 11
The Divine Vision

The Creator may be perceived only through divine vision.

Chapter 12
Devotional activity

Devotional activity is an attractive means of seeking the Creator.

Chapter 13
States of consciousness
Enlightnment is a state wherein one understands the levels of consciousness in the body, the soul and the Creator .

Chapter 14
The Three types of material form.

Living beings are under the control of three types of material nature: goodness, passion and ignorance. Enlightenment comes when one transcends them.

Chapter 15
The Supreme Creator

The enlightened being is one with the Creator.

Chapter 16
Good and Evil Natures

Those who live regulated lives, abiding by scriptural authority, gradually attain spiritual perfection.

Chapter 17
The three types of Faith

Enlightenment comes in stages, corresponding with the type of faith and discipline.

Chapter 18
Conclusion -- The Path of Enlightenment

Enlightenment gives one the ultimate union with the Creator.